The Ethiopia Visa is an electronic travel authorization which allows visitors to enter the country. It is available to citizens of all countries and it has eliminated the need to physically go to an embassy or consulate or queue at the border for a visa. The application is completed online and only takes a matter of minutes.

What Is the Ethiopian Visa?

ethiopia e visaThe Ethiopian Online Visa was launched to accelerate the process of obtaining a visa for Ethiopia. Citizens from all countries can quickly complete the online application form by answering a series of basic questions.

Visa applications are normally processed within 24 hours though on rare occasions the process can take up to three (3) days. Once approved the eVisa is sent to the applicant by email.

Travelers can present their eVisa, along with their passport, to the Ethiopian border authorities at Addis Ababa Bole International Airport to gain entry. The electronic visa for Ethiopia is a single-entry visa and applicants have the choice of either a 30-day or 90-day visa.

Who Needs a Visa for Ethiopia?

The vast majority of travelers need a visa for Ethiopia to be able to enter. Citizens of Kenya can enter without a visa for periods of up to a year and citizens of Djibouti can enter for a period of up to three (3) months visa-free. These are the only two visa-exempt nationalities.

The Ethiopia eVisa has effectively eliminated the need to queue at the border for a visa on arrival as the application can be completed in advance. The eVisa is available to eligible passport-holders from every country.

  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • China
  • Denmark
  • Eritrea
  • France
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • India
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • Netherlands
  • Nigeria
  • Norway
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Uganda
  • United Kingdom
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States
  • Afghanistan
  • Aland Islands
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • American Samoa
  • Andorra
  • Angola
  • Anguilla
  • Antarctica
  • Antigua & Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Aruba
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bermuda
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Bonaire
  • Bosnia and H.
  • Botswana
  • British Indian O. T.
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Cayman Islands
  • Central African R.
  • Chad
  • Chile
  • Christmas Island
  • Cocos Islands
  • Colombia
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Cook Islands
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Curacao
  • Czech Republic
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Malvinas
  • Faroe Islands
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • French Guiana
  • French Polynesia
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Guam
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Jersey
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Korea North
  • Korea South
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Lao
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macau
  • Macedonia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Martinique
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mayotte
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Montserrat
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Niue
  • Norfolk Island
  • N. Mariana Islands
  • Oman
  • Palau
  • Palestinian T.
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Pitcairn Islands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Puerto Rico
  • Qatar
  • Republic of Cyprus
  • Reunion
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • S. Barthelemy
  • S. Helena
  • S. Kitts and N.
  • S. Lucia
  • S. Pierre and Miquelon
  • S. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Sint Maarten (Dutch part)
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Georgia
  • S. Sandwich Islands
  • South Sudan
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Svalbard & Jan Mayen
  • Swaziland
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tokelau
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Turks & Caicos Islands
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican City
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
  • Virgin Islands, British
  • Virgin Islands, U.S.
  • Wallis & Futuna
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

More about the Online Visa for Ethiopia

The Ethiopian Visa was launched by the Main Department for Immigration and Nationality Affairs in Ethiopia in 2017. The e-Visa is available to citizens, from every country, whose passports have at least six months remaining from the date of arrival in Ethiopia.

The application form requires applicants to answer a series of basic questions. Travelers need to enter a range of information including their name, date of birth, address, email address, travel plans, and health information.

There will also be some security-related questions. Applicants will be screened by the Ethiopian authorities using security databases when the application is submitted. To complete the application it is necessary to pay a fee using a credit or debit card.

Why Apply for an Ethiopia eVisa?

There are many reasons why the eVisa is the best option for tourists heading to Ethiopia. Firstly, the eVisa process is fully online: travelers can complete and submit their visa application from home, 24 hours a day.

In addition, online applications are reviewed before being submitted for processing. Missing information or mistakes can be identified and corrected, significantly increasing the chances of approval.

Selecting an image that meets the Ethiopia visa photo requirements can cause confusion, eVisa applicants can simply upload their photo digitally and the size and format will be adjusted accordingly.

Email support is available in several languages to offer assistance and answer queries.

How long does it take to get an eVisa for Ethiopia?

The eVisa form is quick to complete, requiring just a few personal details, passport data, and travel information, as explained above.

Fast visa processing is another advantage. Applications are processed within 3 days, many are approved in 24 hours. The eVisa can be requested just a few days before departure, although it’s always advisable to apply well in advance.

Traveling to Ethiopia with an eVisa

Applicants are sent the approved eVisa by email, the visa can then be printed at home ready to present on arrival at the border along with the visitor’s passport.

On arrival at Addis Ababa Bole International Airport, passengers with an eVisa can head straight to the immigration counters dedicated to e-Visa holders, avoiding joining long queues for a visa on arrival.

Travelers can check the validity period of the permit, which is printed on the visa, 30 and 90-day packs are available.

Tourism in Ethiopia with an electronic visa

With an eVisa for Ethiopia, foreigners can travel to the country for tourist activity. Ethiopia is a fascinating nation with much for overseas visitors to discover.

Sightseers will be impressed by the stunning natural landscapes and extensive range of wildlife; just some of the highlights include Nechisar National Park, the Blue Nile Falls, and Danakil Depression.

Ethiopia’s towns and cities are also worth visiting, from the historic city of Gondar to Addis Ababa, the Ethiopian capital. With up to 90 days to explore, eVisa holders can enjoy a large selection of the country’s highlights.